Skip to content

Beef pie with Guinness and mushrooms

July 29, 2010
tags:

Doesn’t that look delicious?  Well, not really, but trust me it was very good and the whole thing was made in only one pot!

I first had this when Shelly made it for me a few weeks ago.  I loved it so much, I made it once for myself and then again for some friends.  Mmmm, meat!

This dish was topped off with a lovely pastry puff (store-bought, don’t worry), but I forgot to take a picture of it before my friends and I devoured the entire thing.  Beef pie may not seem like your first choice for a summer meal, but this hearty meal was perfect for my little dinner party of three friends, great conversation, and 2 bottles of wine.

The original recipe can be found at http://www.dailyunadventuresincooking.com/2010/03/guinness-and-beef-pie-recipe.html which adapted it from an Epicurious.com recipe.

I, of course, made my own changes.

Beef pie with Guinness (and mushrooms!)

Equipment:

1 pot with lid that can be put into the oven

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons (or as much as you need) flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 pounds stewing meat (this usually comes pre-cut, but I cut it into even smaller pieces – about 1 square inch cubed)*

2 tablespoons (or as much as you need) vegetable oil

1 large onion, chopped into 1/2 inch square pieces (or however large you like your onions chopped)

1/2 pound of mushrooms, sliced or chopped – I prefer to pick out the tiny ones because they look so cute. (Mushrooms are completely optional)

3 garlic gloves, roughly chopped (do not use that stuff that comes in those jars – be a big kid and chop your own garlic and save the planet another stupid container in the landfill)

1 cup (or the whole bottle) room temperature Guinness (I only used one cup when I made this, but next time I’m just throwing the whole bottle in and adding more meat)

1 cup beef stock/broth (thanks, Emeril!)

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

several sprigs of fresh thyme (adds a nice flavor, but not totally necessary if you’d rather not spend the $)

1 package of store-bought puff pastry (I used Pepperidge Farm puff pastry sheets) – Make sure to thaw it for at least 40 minutes before it is needed.

1 room temp egg, beaten

*quick note:  Please consider buying grass fed beef for this recipe.  Not only is it better for the cow, the environment, and your own health (no antibiotics, etc.), but the taste is far superior to whatever awful meat comes out of those beat up cows from big industry agriculture.  I bought one pound of grass fed at the farmer’s market for $6/lb and another pound at Wholefoods for $4.99/lb.  That may seem like a lot to some of you, but you really should look into why it is that big industry beef is so cheap.

Isn’t it fun when your friends lecture you?  On to the cooking!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Heat your pot on the stove at medium-high heat and add vegetable oil.

Mix flour, salt, and pepper in bowl and lightly coat each cube of beef with mixture then add to pot to brown the meat.  You’ll probably have to do this in batches so remove browned pieces to a clean bowl or plate.

Once all the meat is browned and removed to your clean plate, add onions, garlic, a little water, and splash of the beer to the pot.  Cook the onions until they are translucent and soft, making sure to scrape the browned bits off the bottom of the pot with a wooden spoon.

(If you are using mushrooms, then add them here and cook until they release their juices and shrink up a bit.)

Add the rest of the beer, beef stock, Worcestershire sauce, and thyme.  Add beef and bring pot to a simmer.

Cover with lid and put in oven for 1 and 1/2 hours.

About 40 minute before the beef is done, take the pastry puff out of the freezer to thaw.  I took mine out of the packaging too.  If using the Pepperidge farm pastry, you will only need one of the sheets.  Do not try to unfold it until it has thawed.

When the beef is done, take the pot out of the oven and set aside.  Crank the oven up to 425.

Unfold the pastry and put it on top of the beef/beer mixture.  I cut my pastry into a circle shape to fit the pot, but do whatever you like.

Brush the pastry with the beaten egg.  I don’t have a pastry brush (how is this possible?), so I used a paper towel.  Worked fine.

Put pot back into oven without the lid for another 20-25 minutes.

Serve and enjoy!

Also, the meat, but not so much the pastry, reheats nicely the next day.

Here is my glorious mixture before I added the pastry sheet.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 6:46 pm

    Mmm That sounds tasty!

    Although the juxtaposition of your beef pie picture and your cupcakes is a little jarring. 😛 I have food whiplash.

    • sarahsayseat permalink*
      July 30, 2010 8:36 am

      It is so very tasty! The picture of the beef pie is pretty awful by itself, but I admit it is even worse next to my beautiful cupcakes.

      I get food whiplash every time I go into the cheese section of Wholefoods. Cheese!

  2. July 30, 2010 9:32 am

    Hmmm, I seem to remember making something like this. . .

  3. July 30, 2010 11:46 am

    Wow that looks good! So glad to have inspired you.

    • sarahsayseat permalink*
      July 30, 2010 12:26 pm

      Thanks for the awesome recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Orange you glad I said Lemon?! « Eat this!
  2. Kind of like Victor Frankenstein’s Monster « Like A Broken Umbrella

Leave a Reply

